In an effort to start 2008 off on the right foot (or left, depending on the runner), the third rendition of the Darkside Marathon was held in Peachtree City, Georgia on New Year’s Day for the first time in its brief history. The event offered the following to the ten runners who participated (who all finished, by the way):

While the times posted by the competitors were not particularly fast, everyone had a really good time and couldn’t think of a better way to start the new year.
     The results of the event:
     1.  Doug Cassiday – 4:05:46
     2.  Jed Smith – 4:11:27
     3.  Al Barker – 4:18:28
     4.  Susan Lance – 4:18:47
     5.  Scott Ludwig – 4:18:48
     6.  Valerie Reynolds – 4:55:00
     7.  Winston Davis – 5:47:42
     8.  Susan Kolbinsky – 6:38:23
     9.  Anne Rentz – 6:38:23
    10.  Tom Adair – 7:05:27
Early indications are that this latest production of the Darkside Marathon is destined to become a Darkside tradition. That being said, go ahead and mark your calendars for next year: Thursday, January 1, 2009. 6:00 a.m. at Luther Glass Park in Peachtree City, Georgia.